top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJudy

And the ladies entered the room

My contractor came down with something nasty over the holidays and has been out for over a week and I expect him to be out another week. With the expectation of the project being wrapped up - furnishings and all - by Jan 1, I can't tell you how I am fighting disappointment and frustration. Some days/hours I win, some I lose .

Part of my frustration has been around IKEA and the issues there. I ordered 2 kitchens October 12 and due to various obstacles, though they've been paid for, they were never processed. Long story but the lesson in it: NEVER REFUSE AN ORDER FROM IKEA. I was expecting the kitchens December 27th and when that date came and went with no kitchens, I knew in my gut that we're in trouble.

I ended up canceling the order, getting my money back and moving on with other options. I locally sourced and picked up/delivered the cabinets myself last week. Balin and I had a heart to heart about the direction the project was going and decided we needed to hire some reinforcements.


And the ladies entered the room...


First came Jenna - wife, Young Life leader and awesome friend and capable painter. She waltzed into the room and started her magic on the trim in Paris.


Next - Stacie the Next Door Neighbor sauntered in with paint brush in hand. Not only is she handy painting endless trim but is excited to become the up and coming Hospitality Host for Kendall Yards. She's got some mad skills and knows the insides and outsides of the North Central District.


Last but certainly not least is my cape toting, drill shooting Wonder Woman herself, Laura Roodhouse. She was the sidekick for the project in Coeur d 'alene and she showed up in her red truck just in time to give me hope!


I can't tell you how delightful it has been to know that even while I may be working on one small task - like hunting down cabinets - these ladies are hard at work finishing up details that will make this place stand out. I honestly don't know how I would do this without her.


This morning I was freaking out a little bit with all the work that needed to be done and not having a contractor on sight and then Laura came and saved the day. With her help we were able to get the faux brick up and finished (pictures coming) and cut and nail all the trim in place in one of the apartments. (I was allowed to use the finish nailer and I felt so competent) . We got a lot done today and it felt so good to see my dreams come to reality.


Can't wait for tomorrow.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page