top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJudy

Ain't No Sunshine When I'm Home









What a spectacular trip to the Sunshine State of California. It's reputation did not disappoint as the traffic was as bad as could be expected. Almost 2 hours to go from LAX to Universal studios - where we met my mom for the kids' Christmas present.

Sam and Perrin were treated by a weekend away with Aunt Sue, Sophie and my mom in Universal Studios - including Harry Potter world.

Aunt Sue was hoping to pop over on a quick flight from Prescott but due to plane troubles they had to shuttle to Phoenix and fly out of Sky Harbor. Bummer. At least when they arrived at LAX they only had a 30 minute drive to Universal. Silver Lining.

After dropping off the kids and having dinner with Grandma, Balin and I scooted out and headed to Palm Springs. It was a relative short 90 minute drive, but we had already had a long day and we were wiped out. We had to blast the Black Eyed Peas to stay awake.

For a more detailed telling of where we stayed in Palm Springs check out my Strickler Properties blog here: https://www.stricklerproperties.com/blog?x_cw_context_provider=safari


Balin and I had such a delightful time going for breakfast, taking walks, riding bikes, sitting by the pool reading books, eating amazing food, going over our goals and financial plan for the next few years. So. Good.


I am so thankful to be married to a guy who not only do I think is super cute, but I love to just be around him. Can't wait to spend the next 50 years with him.


The weekend came to a close all too quickly and we headed back to the airport. Before we got there though we detoured to Venice Beach and had a healthy breakfast at the Cow's End. It was amazing to see most people in flip flops and shorts in the middle of January. Balin's comment was "a run in the woods in the morning and a swim in the sea after breakfast...I could get used to that." But not in California.


With that, we headed home. Picked up the kids, gave kisses and hugs to all and got on the airplane headed to Seattle then Spokane. By the time we hit Seattle another wave of sadness came over me and it didn't leave me for the rest of the evening. Interestingly though, once we started the journey home, Sam's attitude brightened significantly and was almost bubbly. Wow.


I was in such a state BLAH Balin gently grabbed my face and said, "Listen to me. We will not always live in the cold darkness in winter." Thank you Balin. Another reason why I adore that man.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page